Recently, legislators submitted recommendations on teacher raises to our State Legislature’s Education Committees. The committees will meet October 3rd and 4th to discuss proposals and decide what kind—or if any—raises will be recommended for the upcoming legislative session in January.

Here’s what you can do: Join our sit-in at the upcoming committee meeting on Monday, October 3rd at 1:30 pm. We will WEAR RED in support of pay raises for educators around the state. Let’s pack the committee room so legislators cannot ignore us! If you wish to join the committee meeting sit-in, please email Gwen Faulkenberry at 

You can also email members of the Education Committee and ask them, “What recommendations are you presenting to education committee chairs based on the adequacy study and what you know about Arkansas teacher salaries?” (If your personal legislators are on the education committee, please let them know you are their constituent. Remember to keep the email short, professional, and polite.) We’ve provided sample wording for you below. Committee members’ names and emails are also below.

See you on October 3rd!

Sample Wording:

I am a ____ year educator and parent of a child(ren) who is/was educated in (city). I understand that the Senate and House Education Committees will discuss teacher pay raises at the October meeting. What recommendations are you planning on presenting based on what you’ve seen from the adequacy study and what you know about Arkansas teacher salaries?

Here’s the email list of the Education Committee Members. Encourage colleagues to contact their legislators and the committee members:

Senate Chair Sen. Missy
Senate Vice Chair Sen. Joyce
Senator Charles
Senator Linda
Senator Jane
Senator Colby
Senator Greg
Senator James
House Chair Rep. Bruce
House Vice Chair Rep. Brian
Rep. Rick
Rep Ken
Rep Karilyn
Rep Gary
Rep Charlene
Rep Megan
Rep Steve
Rep Lee
Rep Fredrick
Rep Mark
Rep John
Rep Gayla
Rep Stephen
Rep Reginald
Rep Stu
Rep Nelda
Rep Deann
Rep Richard